Monday, April 02, 2007

Supreme Court again whacks the Bush Administration

The Supreme Court today ruled against the Bush Administration again, this time on car pollution and the role of the EPA in setting limits on pollution. Even with the Supreme Court rigged with Conservatives, the 5-4 decision is a setback for both Bush and Cheney and their big Oil friends. They rebuked the Administration for inaction on global warming!

The court's four conservative justices — Chief Justice John Roberts and Justices Samuel Alito, Antonin Scalia and Clarence Thomas — dissented.

Those rebuking the Administration's position were Justices John Stevens, Anthony Kennedy, David Souter, Ruth Ginsburg and Steven Breyer. To read the compete news report click here.

In my humble opinion, this Administration should have been taken to Court over their record on Katrina too.

Background of Supreme Court appointments:

Of the 9 Supreme Court Justices 7 have been appointed by Republican Presidents and only 2 by a Democratic President.

Justice Stephen Breyer appointed by Clinton
Justice Ruth Ginsburg appointed by Clinton
Justice John Stevens appointed by Ford
Justice Anthony Kennedy appointed by Reagan
Justice Anthony Scalia appointed by Reagan
Justice Clarence Thomas appointed by Bush 1
Justice David Souter appointed by Bush 1
Justice Sam Alito appointed by Bush 2
Chief Justice John Roberts appointed by Bush 2

Labels: , , , ,


Post a Comment

<< Home

Technorati Profile